2012 Assessment - 23%
2012 Assessment rate of 23% as published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
The annual assessment to be levied for calendar year 2012 will be 23% applied to the prevailing primary premium for each participating health care provider. The Mcare Act defines “prevailing primary premium” as the schedule of occurrence rates approved by the Insurance Commissioner for the Joint Underwriting Association (JUA).
For purposes of the 2012 annual assessment, the rates shall be those currently approved for use by the JUA. Participating health care providers having approved self-insurance plans shall be assessed an amount equal to the assessment imposed on a participating health care provider of like class, size, risk and kind as determined by the Department.
The total assessment cost for 2012 will be $203,824,513. This amount is $26,741,075 more than was collected from the 2011 assessment to cover claims, expenses, and a 10% buffer. The difference will be paid from Mcare’s carryover balance. The increase in the assessment percentage for 2012 is attributable to an increase in claims in 2011, as well as a rate reduction by the JUA.
2012 Assessment Manual - This 2012 Mcare Assessment Manual ("Manual") is intended to assist in calculating Mcare assessments pursuant to Act 13 of 2002. Published 12.7.2011
Exhibit 1 Rates for 2012 Individual Health Care Providers
Exhibit 2 Rates for 2012 Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Primary Health Care Centers
PMSLIC Tail Rates - Tail rates for primary insurance companies who did not have approved rates in PA prior to 1997. These rates are to be used for physicians, podiatrists, certified nurse midwives, professional corporations and birth centers.
PHICO Tail Rates - - These rates are to be used for hospitals, nursing homes, and primary health centers.
e-216 Remittance Advice Form V.10 - Published 3.21.2013
IMPORTANT PROCESSING UPDATE - ELECTRONIC SUBMISSIONS: Effective January 1, 2013, electronic submission of Excel type e-216 is the preferred method of reporting basic professional liability insurance coverage to Mcare. No longer is a hardcopy 216 required when submitting your e-216 with or without payment. This change applies to all submissions, regardless of the assessment year, with a run date on or after January 1, 2013. The e-216 must be sent to the following e-mail address firstname.lastname@example.org If payment is due, the check must be mailed to Mcare at the same time the e-216 is emailed. For complete details, please refer to page 8 of the 2013 Assessment Manual.
The standard for submitting new and renewal business to Mcare is to do so electronically via Form e-216, or one of the other two approved formats listed in the manual. Submitting electronically increases Mcare's ability to process coverage information and payment in a more efficient and expeditious manner.
This form is to be used by basic professional liability insurance carriers and approved self-insurers for summarizing surcharges/assessments collected, payable and refundable. Except for an approved self-insured health care provider, a health care provider may not complete this form.
Laws, Regulations, Statements of Policy and Notices:
Click here to access Laws, Regulations, Statements of Policy and Notices that may assist your understanding and reporting of Mcare coverage and/or claims.
The Pennsylvania Code is the official repository for all Commonwealth regulations. The Insurance Department's regulations are available at http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/031/031toc.html
Click here for Mcare regulations published in the Pennsylvania Code.