PDE Search

Certification Fee Changes
Back Email Article  Print Article

Each year, the Pennsylvania Department of Education processes more than 56,000 teacher certification applications and responds to tens of thousands of emails and phone calls as part of the services provided to applicants, school districts, college/universities and the public. Previous improvements have significantly cut the application processing times for all application types and improved PDE responsiveness to constituents.  Please refer to Application Processing Status for further information on processing timelines.

Pursuant to Act 59 of 2013, the Pennsylvania General Assembly has established a $25 Educator Discipline fee to be added to all applications for certification in addition to the application fee charged by the Department.  The purpose of this fee is to provide an appropriation for the administration, enforcement and adjudication of professional discipline by the Department and the Professional Standards and Practices Commission.  The table below represents the total application fee inclusive of the Professional Discipline fee for all certification applications filed on or after September 1, 2013.

 

Application Type

New Fee

September 1, 2013

In-State

(Program completed at a PA College/University)

  Instructional, Vocational, Intern

  Educational Specialist

  Administrative/Supervisory

  Letter Of Eligibility (LOE)

  Commission Qualification Letter (CQL) 

$125

Emergency Permits

  Type 01, 04, 08

  Type 06 (day-to-day)

 

$125

$5

Out-of-State

(Program completed outside PA)

  Instructional

  Educational Specialist

  Administrative/Supervisory/LOE /CQL

$185

Endorsement

$125

Program Specialist

$125

Resource Specialist

$125

Instructional Add-On

$125

Level II

$125

MEQs/BEQs

$100

TTP & TTP Conversion

$125

Duplicate Certificate

NA

Name/Address Change

$0

Act 48 Extension Request

$0

Voluntary Inactivation/Removal

$75

Deletion of Certificate Area

$75

Certificate of Preliminary Education  (Nurse, Funeral Director)

$50

Private Academic

$100

Public Librarian

$0

Charter School Teacher Designation (for HQT purposes only)

$0

The Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality is unable to accept personal checks or cash.  Application fees are non-refundable.  The fee will be retained by the Commonwealth whether or not the transaction results in the issuance of a certificate.

Payment may be made:

  • Online via credit card (Visa, MasterCard) through the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS) or
  • By mailing to the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) a U.S. money order for the appropriate fee made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania" with the coversheet printed at the end of the TIMS application process.

     
   
     

For additional information, please contact:

Division of Certification Services
 

Pennsylvania Department of Education - School Leadership and Teacher Quality
333 Market Street | Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: 717.728.3224

Certification, Application or Technical Questions - Please submit a Help Desk Ticket.