Pennsylvania Alzheimer's Disease Planning Committee
Earlier this year, Governor Tom Corbett issued an executive order creating the Pennsylvania Alzheimer's Disease Planning Committee, and named Secretary of Aging Brian Duke as the Chairman. The Committee will develop a comprehensive state plan by February 2014 that prescribes ways to address the Alzheimer's disease crisis in Pennsylvania. For more information about the Committee, click here.
World Elder Abuse Awareness Day
World Elder Abuse Awareness Day is traditionally held on June 15. Governor Tom Corbett has proclaimed June as Elder Abuse Awareness Month in Pennsylvania defining the responsibility of every Pennsylvanian to protect the health, safety, dignity and rights of older adults through education and outreach.
There are many signs of elder abuse. Although the following signs do not always mean elder abuse, it is important to be aware that elder abuse can occur at any time to anyone:
Bruises or broken bones
Dementia may be blamed on "old age" when the real cause is malnutrition or drug interactions or side effects
The older person never goes outside or never sees visitors
Withdrawing large sums of money from a savings account without apparent reason
Signing his or her home to a relative
Anyone who believes that an older adult is being abused, neglected, exploited or abandoned may call the confidential elder abuse hotline at 1-800-490-8505. The hotline is open 24 hours a day. For more information on how the department is working to prevent elder abuse, click here. Tp view the press release for World Elder Abuse Awareness Day, click here.
Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application Deadline Extended to End of Year
The deadline for older adults and residents with disabilities to apply for Pennsylvania's Property tax/ Rent rebate program has been extended from June 30 to Dec. 31.
The rebate program benefits eligible Pennsylvanians age 65 and older; widows and widowers age 50 and older; and people with disabilities age 18 or older. The income limit is $35,000 a year for homeowners and $15,000 annually for renters, and half of Social Security income is excluded. The maximum standard rebate is $650, but supplemental rebates for qualifying homeowners can boost rebates to $975.
As specified by law, rebate distribution will begin on July 1. After June 30, rebates will be distributed as claims are received and processed. Applicants may obtain Property Tax/Rent Rebate claim forms (PA-1000) and related information online at www.revenue.tate.pa.us or by calling, toll-free, 1-888-222-9190.