Lethal Weapons Training Program

Lethal Weapons Certification Procedures


Basic Applicant Requirements for Act 235 Certification

The Pennsylvania State Police station forwards to Lethal Weapons Department the
following.

1. Completed Basic Application for Agent Certification (SP 8- 200)
 - If a waiver of training is requested, the applicant must have the waiver section on the application completed

2. Money Order, Certified Check, or Cashier’s Check for $77.50 payable to “The Commonwealth of PA”. (No others are accepted)

3. Fingerprints – Live Scan OR Hard Copies
 - Hard copies must include one Green and White PSP card and one Blue and White FBI card

4. Completed Physical Evaluation (SP8-200A)
  - Detach the physical and psychological evaluation forms

5. Completed Psychological Evaluation (SP8-200B)
 - The Physician and Psychologist must forward the appropriate form to the Lethal weapons department within 15 days of completing the evaluation

Photos are NOT required unless the applicant lives out of state


Full Time Police Officers

1. Application for Agent Certification (SP 8-200)

2. Police Officer Exemption Application (SP 8-200 C)

3. Active Municipal Police Officer LWTA Verification Procedure for Training Waiver (SP 8-204) OR Academic and Firearms Sections on Application for Agent Certification completed

4. A letter from your chief stating you received a physical and psychological evaluation to become a Police Officer OR copies of them

5. Money Order, Certified Check, or Cashier’s Check for $27.50 payable to “The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”

6. Fingerprinted by the Pennsylvania State Police
 Done either by Live Scan OR on hard copies - Hard copies must include one blue and white FBI print card and one green and white PSP print card



Part Time Police Officers

 1.  Application for Agent Certification (SP 8-200)

 2.  Active Municipal Police Officer LWTA Verification Procedure for Training  Waiver (SP 8-204)

 3.  Physical Evaluation (SP 8-200A) and Psychological Evaluation (SP 8-200B)

 4.  Money Order, Certified Check or Cashier’s Check for $77.50 payable to “The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania” 

 5.  Fingerprinted by the PA State Police

 - Done either by Live Scan (PAPSP0100) OR on hard copies
 - Hard copies must include one blue and white FBI card and one green and white PSP card.