PHRC Advisory Councils

The PHRC Advisory Councils were created to extend the commission’s ability to reach out to local communities to promote a better understanding of what the agency services include and to create partnerships at the local level. Some advisory councils hold civil rights award programs, forums and educational sessions on discrimination in employment, housing, public accommodation and education. Additionally they may provide assistance with forming strategies in addressing problems at the local level.

Most advisory Councils meet on a regular basis.  To find out more about advisory committees or when they meet, contact Geoff Biringer at

Current Advisory Committees and Chairperson:

Blair County Advisory Council
Ronald Miller, Chair

Cambria County Advisory Council
Verna Carter, Chair

Centre County Advisory Council
Joanne Tosti-Vasey, Chair

Monroe County Advisory Council
Julie Weber, Chair

Montgomery County Advisory Council
Rose Makofske, Chair

Southwestern PA Advisory Council (Allegheny, Washington and Westmoreland Counties)
Pending (newly formed)

York County Advisory Council
Stan Sexton, Chair