PDE Search

Relocation
Back Email Article  Print Article

School Director:

The following information is regarding the requirements listed in the Private Licensed Schools Act and the regulations of the State Board of Private Licensed Schools for relocating a private licensed school.

According to the regulations, 22 Pa. code § 78.93 (e), a school wishing to change its location shall inform the Board staff at least 30 days in advance of the anticipated relocation date.  Board approval is required.

To document that you have met all requirements related to physical plants, please submit the following: a certificate of occupancy, floor plans, a bond rider or amendment stating that your surety arrangement will cover the new facility, and the mandatory $500 fee for a site visit to verify the adequacy of the facility.  Please refer to the regulations of the State Board of Private Licensed Schools, 22 Pa. Code §§ 73.92, 73.93, for information.  Following a successful site visit, division staff may tentatively approve the new site subject to confirmation by the State Board of Private Licensed Schools at a regularly scheduled meeting.

If your branch will have a different name from the licensed school, you must also contact the Pennsylvania Department of State to complete the appropriate fictitious name registration form.

Please contact us with questions or concerns.

 


For additional information, please contact:

Division of Higher & Career Education |
Pennsylvania Department of Education - Postsecondary and Adult Education
333 Market Street. 12th Fl | Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: 717.783.8228 | Fax: 717.772.3622
ra-pls@pa.gov | www.education.state.pa.us