Pennsylvania Department of State Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners in
Speech-Language and Hearing
Can't see the images? View the web version here.


Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and Hearing

May 2011 www.dos.state.pa.us

BOARD MEETING DATES
July 15, 2011
Sept. 23, 2011
Dec. 2, 2011

OTHER NEWS
Disciplinary Actions
A listing of disciplinary or corrective measures taken by the 29 professional licensing boards and commissions, Charitable Organizations and Notaries Public.
Read More
Newsletter Preferences
Visit the newsletter preference center to change your subscription settings.
Read More
Newsletter Archive
View past issues of board newsletters on the Department of State website.
Read More

Governor Corbett Names Katie True to Head Department of State’s Professional Licensing Bureau




Governor Tom Corbett recently named Katie True, of Lancaster County, to lead the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs within the Pennsylvania Department of State.

As commissioner, True will oversee the state’s professional and occupational licensing boards. The bureau provides administrative and legal support for all of the state’s licensing boards - which oversees professionals from medical doctors to accountants and funeral directors – while protecting the health, safety and welfare of the public from fraudulent and unethical practitioners.

Read More



New Continuing Education Requirements for Dual Licensees

Section 5(7) of the Speech-Language and Hearing Licensure Act, 63 P.S. § 1705(7), authorizes the State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and Hearing to establish standards of eligibility for license renewal. 

Beginning with the current renewal period, commencing Aug. 1, 2010, and ending July 31, 2012, dual licensees will be required to obtain 40 hours of continuing education, 20 hours in each area in which they are licensed.

Read More


Schedule of Civil Penalties for Lapsed Licenses and Failure to Complete Continuing Education Hours

As of November 20, 2010, the Board has been authorized to issue citations to licensees and assess fines for lapsed licenses and/or failure to complete the requisite amount of continuing education hours.  49 Pa. Code § 43b. (a).  By issuing citations, the Board is able to bypass the formal disciplinary process for what are considered minor violations of the Board’s Licensure Act and regulations. 

Please be sure that your license is current and that you complete the required hours of continuing education for each biennial renewal period.  Under these new regulations, if you are practicing as an audiologist, speech-language pathologist or teacher of the hearing impaired on a license that has lapsed for up to twelve months, you may be assessed a fine of $50 per month.  If you have failed to complete 20 hours of continuing education for each license that you hold under this Board, you may be assessed a fine of $100 per deficient clock hour.

Introducing the Newsletter Preference Center

The Department of State is pleased to introduce the long-awaited newsletter preference center!  At the suggestion of several board members, licensees may now subscribe to multiple newsletters and more easily manage their subscriptions. The newsletter preference center will allow you to subscribe to as many board newsletters as you wish, unsubscribe from any newsletters you no longer wish to receive and update your email address.

The preference center also opens newsletter subscription to non-licensees who may be interested in a particular business or health care field.  We encourage you to share the preference center with your non-licensee colleagues so that they may also receive the benefits of the newsletters’ important updates and timely articles.

It is important to note that updating your email address on My License will not change the email address used for newsletter subscriptions.  You must use the preference center to change the email address at which you wish to receive newsletters, as well as to subscribe or unsubscribe from newsletters. 

Visit the preference center now or go to the Department of State’s homepage, www.dos.state.pa.us, click on “Licensing,” then “Newsletters.”






Pennsylvania State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and Hearing
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
717.783.1389 | ST-SPEECH@pa.gov
Unsubscribe | Forward to an Associate


Click Here to be removed from this list


Modified Date: 05/17/2011 10:17 PM