State Board of Cosmetology
 
Pennsylvania's Clean Indoor Air Act impacts all public facilities
including cosmetology salons.
For more information please visit the PA Department of Health Web site.
 
Licensure Information
 

Board Services
Board Forms
Act 48 Citation Schedule
Citation Program
 
 

 


Rules and regulations - A hard copy is available from the Board office upon request.  Remember to include your mailing address with your request.

Name Change - Will be made only when a copy of an official document (marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order) is submitted with a letter of request.  The fee for a duplicate license is $5.00 (check or money order) payable to the Commonwealth of PA.

Address Change- Written requests should include the old address, new address and license number and/or Social Security number.  The Board must be notified within 10 days of any change in address. You may also change your address online using your unique user log on at www.mylicense.state.pa.us.

** For your convenience, you may download the Request for Changes to an Individual License below to report a name change, address change or to request a duplicate license.

Request for Certification of Licensure - A written request and the appropriate fee must be forwarded to the Board office OR you may submit your request on the Board's form Request for Certification of Licensure. This form may be downloaded or requested by calling the Board office at 717-783-7130. A written request must include name, current address, license number (if applicable), Social Security number, and a postage-paid, addressed envelope where the completed certification should be mailed.

The fee for a Request for Certification of Licensure is $15.00.

Make fees payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania." NOTE: A $20.00 processing fee will be assessed for any payment returned by your bank, regardless of the reason for nonpayment.

Back to Top


EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013, THE BOARD WILL NO LONGER MAINTAIN A POLICY ON STUDENT ABSENTEEISM.  THE POLICY EXPRESSED IN A STATEMENT FROM FORMER COMMISSIONER DOROTHY CHILDRESS ON MARCH 2, 1999, IS NO LONGER IN EFFECT.

Board application forms are available to be downloaded. 

If you require special accommodation in downloading or viewing a form, please e-mail the BPOA webmaster at RA-BPOA@pa.gov.

Licensing Requirements Information

Application for Cosmetology Salon License
Application for Cosmetology Salon Change

Application for Cosmetology School License
Addendum-Cosmetology School License 150 hours
Application for Cosmetology School Change

Application for Licensure by Reciprocity 

Application for Registration as an Apprentice Cosmetologist in a Salon 
Quarterly Report of Apprentice Hours
Quarterly Report of Student Hours 
Request for Certification of Hours
Request for Duplicate or Changes to an Individual License
Request for Certification of License

Cosmetology Teacher Licensure by Reciprocity Application

Employer's Certification Form 

Questions regarding practice of this profession may be directed to the Office of the State Board: 
Board Administrator, State Board of Cosmetology, P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, (717) 783-7130; e-mail: ST-COSMETOLOGY@pa.gov

 

Back to Top


Board Examination Information:

Cosmetologist Examination 

Esthetician Examination
Nail Technician Examination
Natural Hair Braider Examination

Teacher Examination for cosmetologist and limited licenses

For examination application, to check on the status of your license application or to obtain information on license requirements contact: 

Pearson VUE c/o Dasher (866) 474-1148 Monday - Friday 8am -5pm (Eastern Time Zone)

WEBSITE:  www.pearsonvue.com

Completed applications are submitted directly to Pearson VUE c/o Dasher. 

The deadline for each examination is one month prior to the date you wish to test; however, Pearson VUE will continue to schedule candidates as space permits for up to two weeks prior to the examination.  Other sites with low candidate volume may opt not to test in a given month.

Examination fees are as follows: 

STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

FEE SCHEDULE

EXAMINATION FEES (effective July 1, 2011)*

Classifications

Complete initial

exam/licensure

Complete re-examination

Practical portion only

Theory portion only

Cosmetologist

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Nail Technician

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Esthetician

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Natural Hair Braider

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Esthetician Teacher

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Nail Technology Teacher

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Natural Hair Braiding Teacher

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

Cosmetology Teacher

$150.00

$139.00

$77.00

$63.00

LICENSURE FEES (effective April 12, 2014)*

Salon Initial Licensure (comprehensive or limited services)

$100.00

Cosmetology School

$180.00

Cosmetology Apprentice Registration

$70.00

Licensure by Reciprocity

$60.00

Cosmetology School Supervisor Approval

$20.00

Salon Change (Inspection Required)

$85.00

Salon Change (No Inspection Required)

$30.00

Salon Re-inspection Fee

$85.00

Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing (LOGS)

$15.00

Certification of Hours

$30.00

Duplicate License

$ 5.00

BIENNIAL RENEWAL FEES (effective April 12, 2014)

Cosmetologist (CO) & (CM)

$67.00

Nail Technician (CL)

$67.00

Esthetician (CQ)

$67.00

Natural Hair Braider (CN)  

$67.00

Cosmetology Teacher (CT)

$105.00

Esthetician Teacher (CQT)  

$105.00

Nail Technology Teacher (CTT)   

$105.00

Natural Hair Braider Teacher (CNT)  

$105.00

Cosmetology Salon (CB)

$114.00

Nail Technology Salon  (CY)

$114.00

Natural Hairbraiding Salon  (CH)

$114.00

Esthetician Salon (CZ)

$114.00

Cosmetology School (CS)

$285.00

*The date provided indicates when the fees were established.  Fees may change after several years at the same rate. Please consult with the board website or board email at  st-cosmetology@pa.gov if a significant amount of time as passed to inquire as to the current fee.

 


PLEASE NOTE: The Board's license application fee of $10 must be submited with the application.  The theory and practical fees will be collected when you contact Pearson VUE to schedule those apointments.

 

DO NOT submit the examination fees with the license application or it will be returned to you unprocessed.

Examination Dates:
 



Theory examinations are offered on various days on Pearson VUE's computer-based testing platform.  Please allow at least two business days between the time you call to schedule your examination and the time you wish to sit for the examination.  A "seat" may not be available at the time you wish to test if there is not sufficient lead-time in placing your scheduling call. 

 

There are serveral Pearson VUE Testing Centers throughout Pennsylvania.  You may access test center information at www.pearsonvue.com to locate the nearest test center to you.  Maps and test center hours are available from this website as well.

 

The Candidate Information Handbook is the most comprehensive resource for prospective licensees containing information regarding how to  Access Licensing Information, What to bring to an exam, exam scheduling requirements, exam fees, exam content outlines, testing center rules and more.

 

You may access the Candidate Information Handbook by visiting PearsonVue's website at www.pearsonvue.com/pacos  

 

Back to Top


License Renewal Information:

The board mails renewal notices three months prior to the license expiration date. 

Notices are mailed to the most recent address the licensee has reported to the Board.  The Postal Service does not forward licenses.

Cosmetology Salon

January 31 - Odd-Numbered Years

 $114.00

Nail Technician

(formerly Manicurist)

January 31 - Even-Numbered Years

$67.00

Cosmetologist

January 31 - Even/Odd-Numbered Years

 $67.00

Esthetician (formerly Cosmetician)

January 31 - Odd-Numbered Years

$67.00

Natural Hair Braider

January 31 – Odd-Numbered Years

$67.00

Cosmetology School

January 31 - Even-Numbered Years

$285.00

Cosmetology Teacher

January 31 - Even-Numbered Years

$105.00

Esthetician Teacher

January 31 – Odd-Numbered Years

$105.00

Nail Technology Teacher

January 31 – Odd-Numbered Years

$105.00

Natural Hair Braider Teacher

January 31 – Odd-Numbered Years

$105.00

Nail Technology Salon

(formerly Manicurist Shop)

January 31 - Odd-Numbered Years

$114.00

Esthetician Salon

(formerly Cosmetician Shop)

January 31 - Odd-Numbered Years

$114.00

Natural Hair Braiding Salon

January 31 - Odd-Numbered Years

$114.00

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Top

 
State Board of Cosmetology
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone - (717) 783-7130
Fax - (717) 705-5540
ST-COSMETOLOGY@pa.gov


Modified Date: 10/28/2014 03:10 PM