State Board of Funeral Directors
Pennsylvania's Clean Indoor Air Act impacts all public facilities
including all funeral homes.
For more information please visit PA Department of Health Web site.
  Licensure Information
 
Board Services
Board Forms
Citation Program
Maryland Reciprocal Agreement Information

Board Services

Rules and regulations - A hard copy is available from the Board office upon request.  Remember to include your mailing address with your request.

Name Change - Will be made only when a copy of an official document (marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order) is submitted with a letter of request.  The fee for a duplicate license is $5.00 (check or money order) payable to the Commonwealth of PA.

Address Change - Written requests should include the old address, new address and license number and/or Social Security number.  The Board must be notified within 10 days of any change in address.

** For your convenience, you may download the Request for Changes to an Individual License to report a name change, address change or to request a duplicate license.

Request for Certification of Licensure - A written request and the appropriate fee must be forwarded to the Board office OR you may submit your request on the Board's form Request for Certification of Licensure. This form may be downloaded or requested by calling the Board office at 717-783-3397. A written request must include name, current address, license number (if applicable), Social Security number, and a postage-paid, addressed envelope where the completed certification should be mailed.

The fee for a Request for Certification of Licensure is $15.00

Make fees payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania." NOTE: A $20.00 processing fee will be assessed for any payment returned by your bank, regardless of the reason for nonpayment.

 

Back to Top

Board application forms are available to be downloaded. 

If you require special accommodation in downloading or viewing a form, please email the BPOA Webmaster at RA-BPOA@pa.gov.

Application for Approval as a Funeral Trainee
Application for Approval as a Funeral Trainee Re-Registration
Application for Approval as a Resident Intern
Application for Change of Preceptor
Application for Limited Funeral Director License
Application for Funeral Supervisor or Temporary Supervisor License
Application for a Sole Proprietor Funeral Establishment
Application for a Branch Funeral Establishment
Application for a Restricted Business Corporation Funeral Establishment
Notification of Change in Shareholders for a Restricted Business Corporation or Professional Corporation Funeral Establishment

Notification of Change in Shareholders for a Pre-1935 Business Corporation License
Application for a Professional Corporation Funeral Establishment
Application for a Shared Funeral Establishment
Application for a Funeral Home Partnership License
Application for a Change of Name or Location for Funeral Establishments
Application for a Widow/er or Estate License for a Funeral Establishment
Funeral Director Reciprocal Application Without Exam -West Virginia and Maryland licensees ONLY
Out-of-State Funeral Director Application for Licensure with Examination
Provider Application For Continuing Education Course Approval 
Request for Certification of License
Request for Changes to an Individual License

Certification of Mortuary Education

Preceptor Application

Initial Funeral Director - Employer's Certification

Questions regarding practice of this profession may be directed to the Office of the State Board: 

Board Administrator, State Board of Funeral Directors, P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649, (717) 783-3397.  e-mail: ST-FUNERAL@pa.gov

 

Back to Top

Board Examination Information:

Funeral Directors Licensure & Endorsement Examination 

For examination application contact:  Professional Credential Services, Inc. (PCS), P.O. Box 198689, Nashville, TN  37219-8689.  Phone 1-877-887-9727.  Completed applications are submitted directly to PCS.  

Back to Top

License renewal cycle and fees:

Licenses expire February 1 of every even-numbered year.  The board mails renewal notices two to three months prior to the license expiration date.  Notices are mailed to the most recent address the licensee has reported to the Board.  The Postal Service does not forward licenses.
 
Funeral Home Branch Office $400.00
Funeral Corporation $400.00
Funeral Director $400.00
Funeral Estate $400.00
Funeral Professional Corp. $400.00
Funeral Partnership $400.00
Funeral Restricted Corp. $400.00
Funeral Supervisor $400.00
Funeral Widow $400.00
Back to Top
 
State Board of Funeral Directors
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone - (717) 783-3397
Fax - (717) 705-5540
ST-FUNERAL@pa.gov


Modified Date: 05/16/2014 01:24 PM