Workers' Compensation

Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Announcements

bullet The Bureau of Workers' Compensation is suspending the 2013 Annual Claim Status Report. This decision is based on discussions with, and feedback from, the workers' compensation community. The bureau retains the right to reinstate future reports, as necessary.

In an effort to meet the needs of stakeholders while ensuring compliance with the workers' compensation law, the bureau encourages you to continue to file appropriate and timely EDI transactions to avoid the need for reinstatement of the ACSR. If you haven't already done so, please submit SROI URs for all legacy claims. (Information regarding Claims EDI Release 3 is available here.)

Send questions regarding the ACSR to: RA-CMDEDI@pa.gov.
bullet You are cordially invited to attend the 13th Annual Workers' Compensation Conference June 2-3, 2014, at the Hershey Lodge and Convention Center. Details for attendees and exhibitors.
bullet WC FORMS UPDATE: Paper copies of the forms listed below are no longer required to be sent to the Bureau as the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) transaction satisfies the filing requirement. However, written notice to the employee has not changed due to EDI. Paper forms must be sent to the claimant for ALL transactions as required by the Workers' Compensation Act and Regulations, whether they are forms currently generated by insurer systems or LIBC forms downloaded from the department's website
  1. LIBC-498      Commutation of Compensation
  2. LIBC-392A    Final Statement of Account
  3. LIBC-761      Benefit Offset
  4. LIBC-762      Notice of Suspension for Failure to Return 760
  5. LIBC-763      Reinstatement of WC
bullet Nominations Sought for Governor's Award for Safety Excellence. Each year, select Pennsylvania employers are presented with the Governor's Award for Safety Excellence for demonstrating outstanding progress in accident and injury prevention. The Governor's Award is a great way to recognize both the hard work that goes into preventing injuries and the remarkable results that can be achieved by safety excellence. Employers can nominate themselves, or they can be nominated by another party. All nominations must be submitted by June 1. Additional information is available here.
bullet WC FORMS NOTICE: The workers' compensation forms listed on the Department of Labor & Industry website are provided for your immediate use. However, the Bureau of Workers' Compensation and the Workers' Compensation Office of Adjudication require their use on the effective dates noted on the website. Previous versions of these forms submitted after their effective dates will not be accepted and will be returned to the filing party.
bullet The statewide average weekly wage for injuries occurring on and after Jan. 1, 2014 is $932.00 per week and represents an increase of 1.6 percent from 2013.Additional information on the statewide average weekly wage is available here.
bullet The 2012 Pennsylvania Workers' Compensation and Workplace Safety report is now available online.
bullet Effective close of business October 11, 2013, the Hazleton Workers' Compensation Office of Adjudication, located at 1201A North Church Street, Suite 203, Hazle Township, PA, 18101, will permanently close. Business will no longer be conducted at this site, mail will be forwarded to the Pottsville Workers' Compensation Office of Adjudication (WCOA) and phone calls will be forwarded to the Pottsville Office for a period of six months.

Cases will be heard in either Wilkes-Barre, Pottsville or Bloomsburg.

Contact information for the Pottsville WCOA is listed below:

112 South Claude A. Lord Blvd.
2nd Floor
Pottsville, PA 17901
Phone: 570-621-3146
bullet Transition information for stakeholders filing SFR applications.
bullet The finalized 21-day compliance report for 2012 is now available.
bullet 2014 National Safety Council (NSC) Training Offered
bullet
The Department of Labor & Industry implemented Release 1 of the Workers' Compensation Automation and Integration System, or WCAIS, on Sept. 17, 2012. The first of two releases, Release 1 will activate new functionality for the Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (WCAB) and Helpline. Read more...
bullet
CIMS Claims Converting to WCAIS (effective September 2013).
bullet
To arrange Safety Committee Training please contact the Bureau of Workers' Compensation, Health & Safety division at 717-772-1635 or E-mail at Ra-li-bwc-SAFETY@pa.gov.
bullet The Bureau of Workers' Compensation has published a draft Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Claims Implementation Guide and its supporting documents on the Workers' Compensation Automation & Integration System (WCAIS) project website at www.dli.state.pa.us/wcais. The final version of the guide will provide technical information, procedures and explanations to help claims administrators prepare and navigate future EDI processes.
bullet Utilization Review Announcement: The revised LIBC-601 (REV 04-12) is the only form accepted at this time. When filing, it is important to remember that the request must be filed within 30 days of the receipt of the bill and report that pertain to the start date of the treatment submitted for utilization review.
bullet Fee Review announcement: Effective immediately, appeals of fee review determinations to a hearing officer should be filed on the Request for Hearing to Contest Fee Review Determination, form LIBC-606. Appeals will be heard by seven workers’ compensation judges who have been specially appointed as fee review hearing officers. The form, and additional information, is available here.
bullet In order to comply with federal regulations, changes were made to Unemployment Compensation (UC) Chapter 61 regulations, which took effect February 12, 2011. See, 34 Pa. Code Section 61.25, "Confidentiality of Information and Fees," which contains provisions which limit the use of unemployment compensation information in courts. Section 61.25 (a)(2) is the rule of confidentiality of information and discusses the issue of competent evidence, while (a)(3) enumerates permissible disclosures of unemployment compensation information. These changes will impact requests from workers' compensation practitioners. Text of Chapter 61 is available here.
bullet Notice regarding applications for fee review: Please note that all applications for fee review should continue to be mailed to the Bureau of Workers' Compensation at 1171 S. Cameron St., Room 310, Harrisburg, PA 17104-2501. Additional information about the application for fee review is available.
bullet
The Defendant’s Answer to Claim Petition under PA WC Act, LIBC-374, can now be filed electronically. Additional information regarding filing guidelines is available here.
bullet
Please note that the Bureau of Workers' Compensation does not issue certificates of non-insurance. To obtain a certificate of non-insurance, contact the Pennsylvania Compensation Rating Bureau, United Plaza Building, Suite 1500, 30 S. 17th St., Philadelphia, PA 19103-4007, Phone: 215-568-2371.
bullet Attention workers’ compensation medical providers and repricers: Read the bureau’s statement of purpose of adoption of usual and customary charge reference.
bullet Are you a Pennsylvania employer performing work in Ohio? Find out why you must have Ohio workers' compensation coverage for your employees.
bullet ATTENTION PROVIDERS - The online LIBC-507 and LIBC-9 tutorials are being provided to assist providers in the completion of the Application for Fee Review and Medical Report forms. If you need further assistance, you may contact the Fee Review Section at 717-772-1900.
bullet General workers' compensation information for injured workers now available in Spanish. Información general sobre la compensación de los empleados para aquellos empleados que han sufrido accidentes/lesiones en el trabajo está disponible en Español.
bullet PA Employer WC Insurance Info. is now available.
bullet Current versions of Pennsylvania's various workers' compensation Rules and Regulations and Statements of Policy are available.
bullet Attention PA Employers: Required Workplace Posters are available free of charge from the Department of Labor & Industry
bullet Changes to the WC Act as made by Act 147 (HB 2738)
Related Links
Contact UsCommonwealth PortalContact the Web Team | Privacy PolicyDisclaimer
Copyright ©  Commonwealth of Pennsylvania