
 

 
 
 

  
  
  
  
  
  
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

  
  
  
 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

What should I do if I am 
overcharged in spite of the law? 
The Pennsylvania Department of 
State has the responsibility to 
enforce the law and resolve the 
claims of overcharges. 

If you believe that you are being
 
overcharged, you should
 

contact the Pennsylvania
 
Department of State
 
Complaints Office at,
 
1-800-822-2113.
 

This is a toll free call.
 

What punishment does the law 
provide for violators? 
The law provides for reprimands 
and substantial fines for 
practitioners found in violation. 
These fines will be imposed by 
the state’s appropriate 
professional licensing board. 

Where can I get more 
information? 
More information on the law 
can be obtained from your 
local Area Agency on Aging, 
listed in the blue pages of 
your telephone directory, 
or contact: 

The APPRISE State Health 
Insurance Counseling 

Program at, 
1-800-783-7067. 
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Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

What is the law affecting 
Medicare charges? 
The law’s technical name is 
The Health Care Practitioner’s 
Medicare Free Control Act, but it 
is commonly called “the MOM 
legislation”, for its original name, 
Medicare Overcharge Measure. 

The law was enacted on 
September 8, 1990. It protects 
people on Medicare from being 
overcharged by doctors and other 
health care practitioners by 
making it illegal in Pennsylvania 
to charge a higher fee than that 
approved by Medicare. 

What is an 
“overcharge”? 
An overcharge is the amount of money 
billed by a health care practitioner to 
a patient that is in excess of the 
Medicare approved charge. 

Many people have never been 
overcharged by a doctor. But for 
others, the overcharges can total 
several thousand dollars per year. 

How will the Medicare Fee Control 
Act, or “MOM” Law affect me? 
If you are a Medicare recipient, 
doctors and other health care 
practitioners must accept the 
Medicare reasonable payment for 
the Medicare covered services they 
offer. In other words, they may not 
bill you more than the approved 
charge set by the U. S. Secretary 
of Health and Human Services. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

 

 

Q.Q.
A.A.

Can you give an 
example? 
A practitioner’s fee for a 
procedure is $130 and the 
Medicare approved charge for 
the procedure is $100. Medicare 
will pay $80 and you (or your 
insurer) must pay the remaining 
$20. You may not be charged the 
$30 amount that exceeds the 
approved charge. 

Will I still be responsible for 
the 20 percent copayment 
that Medicare requires? 
Yes. Many people purchase 
“Medigap” policies, which cover 
the 20 percent copayment. 

Either you or your insurance 
company will still need to pay 
the 20 percent copayment. 

You are also still responsible for 
the annual Medicare deductible. 

For more information on 
“Medigap” and other health 
insurance, contact your local 
APPRISE program. APPRISE 
insurance counselors can answer 
questions about various kinds of 
health insurance. You can reach an 
APPRISE coordinator at your local 

Area Agency on Aging, 

listed in the blue pages of your
 

telephone directory, or call
 
1-800-783-7067. 


Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Q.Q. 
A.A. 

Does the law change what 
Medicare will cover? 
No, the law does not change 
the list of services Medicare 
covers. Services such as routine 
examinations, tests and 
cosmetic surgery will still not 
be covered by Medicare. 

Are all doctors covered 
by this law? 
The law applies to all “health 
care practitioners”. This law 
includes medical doctors, 
osteopathic doctors, dentists, 
optometrists, chiropractors, 
pharmacists, physical 
therapists and others. 

Does this include 
nonparticipating physicians? 
Yes. Nonparticipating physicians 
and providers cannot charge or 
collect more than the approved 
charge from the beneficiary. 

Are suppliers of medical 
equipment covered under 
the law? 
No. Medical suppliers are not 
affected by the law. 


