REV-413(1) EX (04-12)
PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ESTIMATING

PA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (FOR INDIVIDUALS ONLY)

Estimated tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is not
subject to withholding such as:

+  Wages for domestic service;

+ Tips received from customers;

+ Wages paid to residents who are seamen engaged in interstate
or intercoastal trade or who work in Indiana, Maryland, New
Jersey, Ohio, Virginia and West Virginia when PA income tax is
not withheld by the employer;

+ Earnings from self-employment or profits made in a trade,
profession, business or farming;

+ Gains from the sale, exchange or disposition of property;

* Interest and dividends;

* Rents and royalties;

+  Gambling and lottery winnings (except PA Lottery winnings); and

¢ Income derived from estates and trusts.

PART 1. WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS
The estimated tax rules apply to:

+ Residents and part-year residents of Pennsylvania; and

+ Nonresidents of Pennsylvania (or residents of other countries)
who expect to have taxable income from sources within
Pennsylvania.

Except for farmers as explained below, you must make PA estimated
tax payments if:

1. You reasonably expect, after subtracting your withholding and
credits, that you would owe at least $246 ($8,000 of income not
subject to employer withholding) in tax for 2012, and

2. You can reasonably expect your withholdings and allowable
credits to be less than the smaller of:

+ Ninety percent of the tax to be shown on your 2012 tax return;
or

+ The product of multiplying the PA taxable income shown on your
2011 PA tax return by 3.07 percent (0.0307). This calculation
can be used only by taxpayers who were full-year PA residents
in 2011.

Example: You expect your 2012 tax liability to be $20,000. Ninety
percent of this amount is $18,000. You were a full-year resident in
2011, and your 2011 PA taxable income times the 2012 tax rate of
3.07 percent is $16,000. If you reasonably expect your amount of
2012 tax withheld and other allowable credits to be less than
$16,000, you must make estimated payments. This is because you
would owe more than $246 after subtracting your expected withhold-
ings and credits; your expected withholdings and credits would be
less than 90 percent of your 2012 tax liability; and your expected
withholdings and credits are less than your 2011 taxable income
times the expected 2012 tax rate of 3.07 percent.

CAUTION
A taxpayer cannot use the prior year’s tax liability as this year’s
estimated tax to avoid underpayment penalty.

Use these instructions and Form REV-414(l), Individuals
Worksheet, to determine your estimated tax. Use Form PA-40ES()
or Form PA-40ESR(l), Declaration of Estimated Personal Income

Tax, to declare and pay your estimated tax and credit your estimated
tax to your account properly.

Part Aand Part B of Form REV-414(1) will help you figure the correct
amount to pay. Use the Record of Estimated Tax Payments on Form
REV-414(1) to keep track of the payments you have made and the
amount of your remaining payments.

PART 2. JOINT DECLARATION
A husband and wife may file a joint return declaration, unless:

1. They are separated under a decree of divorce or separate
maintenance;

. They have different taxable years;
. One spouse is liable for child support;
. One spouse claims one or more credits on PA Schedule OC; or

. One spouse is otherwise required by the department to file a
separate return. See the PA-40 Instruction Booklet for
Married, Filing Separately filing status for details on who must
file separate returns.

To avoid problems and delays in processing your income tax return,
a husband and wife should file tax returns in the same manner as they
made their estimated installment payments. If you and your spouse
made joint estimated payments, file a joint return. If you and your
spouse made separate estimated payments, please file separate
returns claiming the proper amounts on each return. If you and your
spouse need to file differently from the way you submitted your
estimated payments, complete Form REV-459B, Consent to
Transfer, Adjust or Correct PA Estimated Personal Income Tax
Account, to adjust the estimated accounts.

PART 3. PAYMENT DUE DATES

Use the following table to determine the due date and the amount of
each installment. You may pay all of your estimated tax with your first
payment or pay in installments when due. You may elect to apply
your overpayment from your 2011 PA tax return against your 2012
estimated tax liability. If so, the department will apply your approved
overpayment to the first installment, unless you notify the PA
Department of Revenue in writing to apply your overpayment to
another installment. When income is earned unevenly throughout the
year, complete Form REV-1630, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
Individuals, to determine if you owe estimated underpayment penalty.

FARMERS
If at least two-thirds of your gross income for 2012 is from farming,
you may do one of the following:

+ Pay all of your estimated tax by Jan. 15, 2013; or

+ File your 2012 PA tax return by March 1, 2013 and pay the total
tax due. In this case, 2012 estimated tax payments are not
required.

PART 4. HOW TO COMPLETE AND USE THE DECLARATION OF
ESTIMATED PERSONAL INCOME TAX FORM

Individuals filing declarations for the first time should use Forms
PA-40ESR(). Thereafter, the PA Department of Revenue will supply
preprinted Forms PA-40ES(). Failure to receive department-provided
forms does not relieve taxpayers from filing and paying the tax.
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) The number And you pay the following percentages of the estimated tax by the date shown or
If you first meet the requirement of required the next business day if the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday.
to make estimated tax payments: installments is:
' April 15, 2012 June 15, 2012 Sept. 15, 2012 Jan. 15, 2013
Before April 1, 2012 4 25% 25% 25% 25%
After Marc\r;ui;:a , 12021021, 2and before 3 50% 259 25%
After May 31, 2012, and before
Sept. 1, 2012 2 75% 25%
After Aug. 31, 2012 1 100%




You can eliminate the need to file a paper Form PA-40ES (I) by
making your estimated payments through electronic funds transfer
(EFT) or by using a debit or credit card. For detailed information,
visit www.revenue.state.pa.us.
If you do not receive your preprinted Forms PA-40ES(]) or they are
lost or damaged, you may use Form PA-40ESR(l), and request
preprinted forms by writing to:

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

BUREAU OF INDIVIDUAL TAXES

PIT DELINQUENT TAX DIVISION

PO BOX 280510

HARRISBURG PA 17128-0510

DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO THIS ADDRESS.

Complete the name and identification information on the left-hand
side of the coupon. In the right-hand column, enter the fiscal year
information, if applicable, as well as the amount of payment or
declaration of tax (see instructions in the following paragraph for
specific information about how to complete these lines).
There is a separate Form PA-40ES(]) for each due date. The due
date is in the upper right corner. Please be sure you use the form
with the correct due date. Complete and submit the form only if
making a payment. To complete the declaration form and pay the
estimated tax due:

+ Enter the amount calculated on Line 29 of Form REV-414(l),
Individuals Worksheet, in the Declaration of Estimated Tax block,
which is a required entry;

+  Enter the amount you are remitting in the Amount of Your Payment
area. The Amount of Your Payment is usually determined by
taking the Declaration of Estimated Tax block divided by 4.
Carryover credits from the previous tax year are deemed to be
estimated tax payments made for the first period estimated taxes
are due and should be subtracted from the payment amount for
that period. Any carryover credit in excess of the amount of
estimated taxes due for the first or subsequent period should be
subtracted from the second or subsequent period estimated
taxes due;

« Make your check or money order payable to the PA Dept. of
Revenue;

« Write the last four digits of your Social Security number and
“2012 estimated tax payment” on your check or money order. Do
not staple or attach your payment to the declaration;

+ Mail your declaration and check using the enclosed label
provided for your convenience. A preprinted form and label are
provided for each installment;

+ Fill in the Record of Estimated Tax Payments in Part C of your
Individuals Worksheet, REV-414(1).

Do not use Form PA-40ESR(l) form or any other facsimile form

when you can use your preprinted Forms PA-40ES(l). Please use

only the properly dated form for each installment payment.

IMPORTANT:

The department personalized each of your Forms PA-40ES(l),

Declaration of Estimated Personal Income Tax, with your name and

address. To protect you from potential identity theft, your Social

Security number has been encrypted on the form. Your Forms

PA-40ES(I) also have a unique line of information that the department

uses to post your payment. DO NOT GIVE YOUR FORMS TO

OTHER TAXPAYERS. THIS MAY CAUSE YOUR PAYMENT TO BE

APPLIED TO ANOTHER TAXPAYER'S ACCOUNT.

DO NOT MAKE CORRECTIONS ON YOUR FORMS PA-40ES (I).

IF THE PREPRINTED INFORMATION IS INCORRECT, COMPLETE

A PA-40ES CORRECTION FORM, (REV-459) and mail it to:

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAU OF INDIVIDUAL TAXES
PIT DELINQUENT TAX DIVISION
PO BOX 280510
HARRISBURG PA 17128-0510
DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO THIS ADDRESS.

Itis possible to make certain changes to your account online. You can

change your address or change your spouse's information by visiting

www.revenue.state.pa.us. To make changes, you will need your

Social Security number along with either your PA driver's license

number or tax liability on last year's PA personal income tax return.

The department will only provide new estimated forms when you
make a change to your name. Address changes will be made on
next year's estimated forms.

PART 5. AMENDING ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS

You may have a change in income or credits during the year that
requires you to change or amend your estimated payments. To
amend your estimated tax liability, first figure your estimated tax
using Parts A and B of the estimated tax worksheet. Then subtract
any overpayment from your 2011 PA tax return that you applied to
your 2012 estimated account. Also, subtract any 2012 estimated
payments that you already made. Your declaration of estimated tax
should be amended on your Form PA-40ES(l). Make your remaining
payments using the instructions for payment due dates on the front
of this form.

PART 6. PENALTY

If you do not make sufficient estimated tax payments, you will owe
estimated underpayment penalty (interest on the underpayment of
estimated taxes for the time period the taxes remained unpaid). PA
law imposes this penalty on each installment period when you did
not pay at least 90 percent of the actual tax due. You calculate the
penalty at the interest rate on the amount underpaid and the number
of days that the amount was unpaid, but not beyond the due date for
your tax return.

+ PAlawimposes this penalty when you did not make the payments
on time and/or in the required amount.

+ PAlaw imposes this penalty even if you have an overpayment on
your 2012 PA tax return.

To calculate this interest penalty, obtain Form REV-1630,
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, from one of the
department's Forms Ordering Services, or by going to the
department's website, www.revenue.state.pa.us.

SAFE HARBOR RULES
The department will not impose the penalty when:

1. For each installment period, your timely estimated payment,
withholding and credits total at least 90 percent of the actual tax
due on the income earned or received in each installment period;

2. Your total timely estimated payments and credits are at least
equal to an amount calculated using the current year's tax rate
and the income shown on the prior year's annual PA income tax
return (this exception does not apply if you did not file a prior
year’s tax return or filed as a part-year resident in the prior year);
or

3. You meet the qualifications for the special exception as
described in Form REV-1630.

PART 7. FORMS ORDERING SERVICES

If you did not receive your preprinted forms or your forms were lost
or damaged, order replacement Forms PA-40ESR(1) from one of the
telephone numbers below or in writing to one of the addresses
below.

For answers to common questions or to obtain tax forms, schedules
and instructions from the department, you may:

+ Visit the department’s website at www.revenue.state.pa.us;

+ Send email requests for forms to the department at
ra-forms@state.pa.us; or

+ Call 1-888-PATAXES (1-888-728-2937) — Within the local
Harrisburg area, call 717-425-2533.

Send written requests for Form PA-40ESR(1) to:

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAX FORMS SERVICE UNIT

711 GIBSON BOULEVARD
HARRISBURG PA 17104-3218

DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO THIS ADDRESS.

Send written requests for new preprinted Form PA-40ES(]) to:

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAU OF INDIVIDUAL TAXES
PIT DELINQUENT TAX DIVISION
PO BOX 280510

HARRISBURG PA 17128-0510

DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO THIS ADDRESS.
You may also contact a Revenue district office for forms or assistance.

These offices are listed on the reverse side of the Individuals
Worksheet, Form REV-414 (1).



