COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAL OF BUSINESS TRUST FUND TAXES DEPT. 280909
MISCELLANEOUS TAX DIVISION HARRISBURG PA 1 7128-0009

DATE: December 31, 2003
SUBJECT:  Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return (REV-779)

TO: Cigarette Dealer Corporate Accounts

CIGARETTE TAX BULLETIN 03-17

On December 23, 2003 Governor Edward Rendell signed into law Act 46 of 2003 (HB 200, PN 3160) raising
the excise tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes from $1.00 to $1.35 effective January 7, 2004, an increase of $.35 cenls
per pack. Cigarette tax on packs of 25 cigarettes will increase from $1.25 cents to $1.6875 per pack, an increasc
of $.4375 per pack. The new cigarette tax rate applies to all floor stock and to all cigarettes in vending
machines located within Pennsylvania on January 7, 2004.

In order to properly report and remit the floor tax due on your cigarette inventory. it will be necessary 1o
take an immediate physical inventory of all Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes held in your possession as ol 12:0]
A.M. on January 7, 2004 and to complete and file the Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return by the due date of
April 6, 2004, Please refer to the filing instructions on the reverse side of the return.

NOTE: This license has been identified as a corporate account, i.e. a central location is used to
disburse cigarette taxing information to all subsidiary locations. Corporate filers may elect to file a consolidated
return and remittance on behalf of all subsidiary locations. The consolidated return should include a summary
report of each subsidiary cigarette license number and the location’s inventory subject to cigarette floor tax. The
corporate filer is required to maintain a signed copy of the subsidiary location’s return at the corporate
headquarters. In addition, each subsidiary location is required to maintain a copy of the inventory and the
cigarette floor tax return at the business location for inspection. Corporate filers filing consolidated returns are
secondarily liable for any floor tax deficiency assessed against subsidiary locations. Should a corporate account
choose to allow each subsidiary location to file a cigarette floor tax return (Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return
REV-779), filing instructions for filing individual cigarette floor tax returns apply.

For your convenience, a disc containing an excel spreadsheet is enclosed which lists all subsidiary
licensee information and columns to report the floor tax due for each subsidiary location. The spreadsheet will
calculate the floor tax due for each location and the grand total amount due by the headquarters. For cach
location, record the number of packs of cigarettes for which cigarette floor tax is owed. Save the
information/report on the disc, print a hard copy of the report and mail the disc and the hard copy of the report
back to the Department along with a consolidated cigarette floor tax return coupon and check made pavable to
the Department.

Failure to file a floor tax return and pay the floor tax due by April 6, 2004 will result in the imposition
of penalties and interest and may result in criminal prosecution.

Visit the Department of Revenue’s website www.revenue.state.pa.us for additional information.

Should you have questions regarding this matter, please telephone
(717) 772-6919 or FAX (717) 705-8413.



Po Department Of Ravenus COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

Bureau of Business Trust Fund Taxes

Dept. 280909 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Harrisburg, PA 17128-0909
CIGARETTE DEALER FLOOR TAX RETURN

REV-779 AS AFP (12-03)
FAX NO. (717) 705-8413

The below Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return (REV-779) must be filed by each licensed
wholesale, retail and vending location on or before April 6, 2004. Please make checks
payvable to the PA Dept of Revenue.

REV-779 AS AFP (12-03)

NAME AND ADDRESS (MAKE CORRECTIONS AS NECESSARY)

w
>
8 WHOLESALE, RETAIL AND VENDING INVENTORY OF PACKS OF PENNSYLVANIA STAMPED CIGARETTES
l&l 1. Number of packs of 20 cigarettes.............. x $.38 = $§

2. Number of packs of 25 cigarettes.............. x $.4375 = §
§ 3. Balance due from inventory of packs of cigarettes (add Lines 1 and 2)......... $
o
> 4. Penalty and interest if filed after April 6, 2004, see instructions
-3 on the back of this form. 2
[T
& i $
: 5. Total amount due (add Lines 3 & 4). Please remit this amount
lu_.l Number of vending machines..........cooveuviennnn
[+ 4

SIGNATURE TITLE DATE

SALES TAR ®

REV-779 AS AFP (12-03)

NAME AND ADDRESS (MAKE CORRECTIONS AS NECESSARY)

WHOLESALE, RETAIL AND VENDING INVENTORY OF PACKS OF PENNSYLVANIA STAMPED CIGARETTES

1. Number of packs of 20 cigarettes..... e x $.35 = §
2. Number of packs of 25 cigarettes.............. x $.6375 = §
3. Balance due from inventory of packs of cigarettes (add Lines 1 and 2)......... $

4. Penalty and interest if filed after April 6, 2004, see instructions s
on the back of this form.

5. Total amount due (add Lines 3 & 4). Please remit this amount $

Number of vending machines.........civivvvnnnvnn

Important: Failure to file this return and pay the floor tax due will result in the imposition
of penalties and interest and may result in criminal prosecution.
I hereby certify that this return is true and correct.

SIGNATURE TITLE DATE



INSTRUCTIONS FOR CIGARETTE DEALER FLOOR TAX RETURN
WHOLESALE, RETAIL, AND VENDING MACHINE OPERATORS

Effective Date of Tax Increase - The Pennsylvania state cigarette tax will increase from $1.00 to $1.35
per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes and $1.25 to $1.6875 per pack of twenty-five (25) cigarettes as
of January 7, 2006,

Who Must Report and Pay the Tax - When the rate increase goes into effect on January 7, 2004, stamping
agents, wholesale, retail, and vending dealer with an inventory of PA stamped cigarettes, including unsaleable
cigarettes, bearing the old tax rate will be required to pay a "floor tax™ on all PA stamped cigarettes

on hand as of 12:01 AM, January 7, 20046. Every cigarette dealer must file a return even if no cigarettes

are in inventory.

Note - Vending machine operators have an option of reporting their inventory of Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes
as either 1) an actual physical count of all cigarettes in iha vending machines or 2) a calculated figure

of sixty (60) percent of the charge-out inventory. Charge-out inventory is the amount of cigarettes shown

as the normal fill capacity of each machine.

Rate of TaxXx - The Pennsylvania cigarette tax will increase from $.05 per cigarette to $.0675 per cigarette.
The new tax rate per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes is $1.35. The new tax rate per pack of twenty-five (25)
cigarettes is $1.6875. The floor tax per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes is $.35. The floor tax per pack of
twenty-five (25) cigarettes is $.4375.

Filing Requirements - A floor tax return for each licensed location must be filed on or before April 6,
2004. Please make checks payable to the PA Dept of Revenue.

Corporate Filers - cCorporate filers may elect to file a consolidated return and remittance on behalf of all
subsidiary locations. The consolidated return should include each subsidiary cigarette dealer license number

and a summary report of each subsidiary location's inventory subject to cigarette floor tax. The corporate

filer is required to maintain a signed copy of the subsidiary location return at the corporate headquarters. In
addition, each subsidiary location is required to maintain a copy of the inventory and the cigarette floor tax
return at the business location for inspection. Corporate filers filing consolidated returns are secondarily
liable for any floor tax deficiency assessed against subsidiary locations. Should a corporate account choose to
allow each subsidiary location to file a cigarette floor tax return (Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return REV-779),
filing instructions for filing individual cigarette floor tax returns apply.

Record Retention - You must retain a copy of the completed tax return and supporting inventory documents for
a period of three (3) years. For your convenience, a copy of the tax report has been provided.

Unsaleable Cigarettes - Unsaleable cigarettes which are on the premises as of 12:01 AM, January 7, 2004
are subject to the cigarette floor tax. Credits for unsaleable cigarettes will not be issued by the Department
until the floor tax return and payment is received and the credit is verified.

Cigarettes in Transit - cigarettes which are alleged to be in transit as of January 7, 2004, will be deemed
thaipropariy of the shipper. The shipper shall file a return and pay the floor tax imposed 72 P.S. 8206.1 by
April 6, 2004,

Penalty and Interest - Failure to submit your tax return and payment by April 6, 2004 will require the
settlement of Cigarette Floor Tax due, plus penalty and interest. Penalty is calculated at five percent (5%) of
the tax due but unpaid for each month or fraction thereof the tax that remains unpaid. Interest for 2006 is
computed at four percent (4%) (.000110 per diem) on such tax from the time the tax became due until the tax is paid.

Additional Penalties - In addition to settling penalty and interest, the Department has the authority

to settle administrative penalties in an amount equal to the floor tax evaded plus interest and/or suspend or
revoke a cigarette dealer's license, and pursue criminal prosecution for a willful failure to file a floor tax
return by April 6, 2004.

Information and Forms - If you need help computing penalty or interest charges or have additional questions,
contact a Department representative at one of the telephone numbers listed below or the Cigarette Tax Unit,
Dept 280909, Harrisburg, PA 17128-0909. Telephone: (717) 772-6919 / Fax: (717) 705-8413

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BIDM (CIG)
DEPT 280408
HARRISBURG PA 17128-0408



