Chiefs of Police Crime Prevention Award Program

As part a continuing effort to promote crime prevention throughout the law enforcement community, PCCD presents an annual award to a municipal Chief of Police who has demonstrated a strong commitment to crime prevention by actively participating in prevention strategies or by supporting opportunity reduction programs through the resources of the police agency. The award is presented by PCCD each year as part of the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Education and Training Conference. Award winners may not receive the award again for a period of ten years following the date of their award.

2012 Chief of Police Award

Director of Public Safety David Johnson
Lower Paxton Township Police Department

Previous Chief of Police Award Recipients        

2011 Chief Robert Palmer Borough of Alburtis
2010 Chief John W. Mackey Bethel Park
2009 Chief Charles M. Dowell Hummelstown Borough
2008 Chief Jeffery R. Biehl Wyomissing Borough
2007 Chief Robert A. Martin Susquehanna Twp
2006 Chief Thomas H. Ogden Mt. Lebanon
2005 Commissioner Francis Donchez Bethlehem
2004 Chief Charles G. Kellar Harrisburg
2003 Chief Gary E. Hoover Haverford
2002 Chief Howard Burton Penn Hills
2001 Chief Charles Snyder Lower Allen
2000 Chief Gene Ungarean Hopewell
1999 Chief Sal Mecca Dunmore
1998 Superintendent Joseph Daly Lower Merion
1997 Chief Thomas King State College
1996 Chief Paul Wilks Findlay
1995 Director Frank Friel Bensalem
1994 Chief John Scarfo Cranberry
1993 Chief William Kelly Abington
1992 Chief Walter Luniewski Monroeville
1991 Chief Walter Goeke Lancaster