Employer UC Services

Unemployment Compensation: Employer Services

Register a Business

UC Issues Update Newsletter

UC News is Now on Twitter

Did you know that the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry is now on Twitter? Follow us @PALaborIndustry and learn all the latest news and alerts regarding everything UC and more!
Some of the alerts will include:
  • Upcoming webinar announcements
  • Upcoming employer seminars conducted by the Speakers Bureau
  • Important tax information
  • Links to the quarterly newsletter

Electronic Filing

File Your Quarterly UC Tax and Wage Reports Electronically in UCMS
Effective with the first quarter 2014 filing, employers are required to electronically file quarterly UC tax and wage reports through UCMS.
There are several options that employers can use to electronically file UC tax and wage data.
For employers reporting fewer than 100 employees:
  • Key online (Employee information can be pre-populated, making it easy to file.)
  • File upload through the employer portal
  • File Transfer Protocol (FTP)
For employers reporting 100 or more employees:
  • File upload through the employer portal
  • File Transfer Protocol (FTP)
For information on the file layouts and formats that are necessary for electronic reporting of UC tax and wage data by file upload or FTP, please click on the link below:
If you have questions, please contact the UC Employer Contact Center at 866-403-6163, weekdays from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

2015 Unemployment Compensation Contribution Rate Notice Mailing

The department's regular mailing of contribution rate notices for 2015 was dated December 31, 2014. Employers can access their rate notice information in their UCMS employer portal. The department will continue to issue rate notices for 2015 throughout the year, as necessary, to newly registered employers and as revisions to rates are required.

Increase in Taxable Wage Base and Decrease in State Adjustment Factor Beginning in 2013

As part of the Act 60 amendments to the Pennsylvania UC Law, the taxable wage base for employer contributions will increase each year from 2013 through 2018. At the same time, the maximum state adjustment factor has been decreased from 1.5 percent to 1.0 percent through 2016 and will decrease further thereafter. The following chart lists the taxable wage base and state adjustment factor amounts beginning 2013:
Calendar Year
Taxable Wage Base for
Employer Contributions
(per employee per year)
Maximum State
Adjustment Factor
2018 and thereafter
The following solvency measures are in effect for 2015:
Employer Taxes
A 5.1 percent (.051) surcharge on employer contributions, unchanged from 2014. The surcharge adjustment is computed by multiplying your basic rate by the 5.1 percent surcharge. The surcharge adjustment does not apply to reimbursable employers.
A 0.65 percent (.0065) additional employer contribution, unchanged from 2014. The additional contribution is added to your tax rate as adjusted by the surcharge. The additional contribution is not applicable to non-delinquent newly liable and reimbursable employers.
A 1.1 percent (.011) interest factor, unchanged from 2014. Due to the passage of Act 60 of 2012, the interest factor will be used to fund the payment of bond obligations beginning in 2013. It may also be used to fund payment of interest on federal loans, although Pennsylvania does not currently have a federal loan balance. The interest factor is not applicable to non-delinquent newly liable employers and reimbursable employers. Also, it is not credited to the employer's reserve account or considered for federal certifications.
Employee Contributions
A 0.07 percent (.0007) tax on employee wages, or 70 cents on each $1,000 paid, unchanged from 2014. Employee withholding contributions are submitted with each quarterly report. Employee withholding applies to the total wages paid in 2015. It is not limited to the $9,000 taxable wage base for employer contributions.
Benefit Reduction
A 1.7 percent (.017) benefit reduction, unchanged from 2014. With few exceptions, the weekly UC benefit amount for all claimants will be reduced by 1.7 percent.
If you have questions concerning this information, please contact the Employer Contact Center at 866-403-6163 weekdays from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

What Employers Need to Know:

Has your business offered a job to an applicant who is receiving UC benefits, and the applicant refused the offer?
The department has created a new form, UC-1921W Employer Questionnaire Refuse Suitable Work, to assist employers to provide the required notification that suitable work was refused.
Be an active partner in helping to improve UC payment integrity. Notify the department within seven days of the offer by faxing form UC-1921W to 717-772-0378.

Employers: Save Money by Providing Accurate Information to Employees Who May File for UC Benefits

Form UC-1609 (Employer Information Form) can help your company save money by reducing inaccurate claims, and subsequently, inaccurate charges to your account associated with employees that leave your organization and file for unemployment compensation benefits. Complete the form, and provide a copy to every employee who leaves your organization. This simple step could save your company time and money by providing accurate information for use when unemployment claims are filed by one of your employees. If wrong information is given on a claim, it can create delays that can lead to a wrong financial determination which could increase your tax rate and/or require extra time and energy on your part to correct.
Contact UsCommonwealth PortalContact the Web Team | Privacy PolicyDisclaimer
Copyright ©  Commonwealth of Pennsylvania