When is the hunt?
The junior pheasant season will be held Oct. 11-18, taking place on Saturday and Monday of the Columbus Day weekend in October, and then running through Saturday, Oct. 18. (There is no hunting on Sunday, Oct. 12.) The youth squirrel season is open Oct. 11-18. Check your current Pennsylvania Digest of Hunting and Trapping Regulations for this year's Hunting Hours.
Who can participate?
Junior hunters, ages 12 through 16, who have successfully completed Hunter/Trapper Education may participate in the youth pheasant season with or without a hunting license and accompanied as required by law. Remember that a small game hunting party can consist of no more than six participants. Dog handlers and non-hunters walking in line with the junior hunter(s) are considered active participants and members of the hunting party.
Who must accompany the junior hunter?
Junior hunters 12 and 13 years of age must be accompanied by an adult member of the family who is at least 18 years of age, or by an adult serving in place of a parent. Junior hunters 14 and 15 years of age must be accompanied by any adult 18 years of age or older. Accompanying adults must be close enough that verbal guidance can be easily understood. Sixteen year-old junior hunters may hunt alone.
What is the bag limit?
Both the daily and field possession limits are the same as the regular pheasant season. The daily bag limit is two and the field possession limit after the first day is four. Junior hunters must abide by the “Male Pheasant Only” area regulations.
Is it legal to hunt both cock pheasants and hen pheasants?
Male birds are legal to hunt statewide. Hen pheasants may only be taken in areas of the state that are designated as Male and Female Pheasant Areas. Check your Pennsylvania Digest of Hunting and Trapping Regulations for the Pheasant Hunting Areas to verify the designation of your hunting spot.
What are the Fluorescent Orange Requirements?
A minimum of 250 square inches of fluorescent orange on the head, chest and back combined must be worn by anyone participating in the hunt. The orange must be worn at all times and must be visible from 360 degrees. Persons participating in the hunt as dog handlers or walking in line with the junior hunters as part of the hunting party must also abide by the florescent orange requirements. It is recommended that all persons accompanying junior hunters adhere to the fluorescent orange guidelines.